Helena National Forest
  • Home
  • Downloads
  • Return to Portal
  • About Helena National Forest

    In 2015, the Helena National Forest and the Lewis and Clark National Forest were combined into one forest, and now we are the Helena-Lewis and Clark National Forest. 

    Basic Facts:

    • Located in central Montana in the Rocky Mountains
    • Includes approximately 2,846,606 acres of public National Forest System (NFS) land
    • Spans across portions of 17 MT Counties  
    • Encompasses 8 ranger districts: Lincoln, Helena, Townsend, Belt Creek, Judith, Musselshell, Rocky Mountain, and White Sulphur Springs and 2 Forest Supervisor’s offices located in Helena and Great Falls, Montana
    • Straddles the Continental Divide